Two of the most important things after a divorce when determining the future of a child are custody and support. While only one parent maintains physical custody of their child, the non-custodial parent is still required to financially support them. Child support is payments made by the non-custodial parent to the primary caretaker in order to continue care for their child. This is because the state of New Jersey requires both parents to financially support their children. In Morris County, childcare can be too costly for one parent to handle alone, so both parents must pay their own share. These payments are used for all things pertaining to the wellness and betterment of the child.
Factors to be Considered
Every family is different, therefore they are treated differently than others while determining child support. In New Jersey, there is not one solution to establish the value of support payments. In order to come to a conclusion, the state created the New Jersey Child Support Guidelines. This is a formula that calculates the child’s expenses with both parents’ income in order to determine a fair solution. The formula applies to those parents with a combined yearly income are between $8,840 and $187,200.
In cases that do not apply to the Guidelines, the court will take several factors into consideration to determine child support. This may include:
- The financial status of each parent
- Who has physical custody of the child
- Any income, debt, and assets of each parent
- Each parent’s earning capacity
- Each parent’s work history
- The child’s needs
- The child’s age/health
- The child’s education
- The cost of providing for the child
When Does Child Support Stop?
Parents are only required to continue child support payments until their child reaches a certain age. In the state of New Jersey, the emancipation age is 19 years old. This may change in some circumstances depending on the child and the family situation. Some exceptions that may require extending child support payments are if a child wishes to attend college or if a child is disabled. If a child enrolls in college, a court may require payments to continue until the age of 23, or when they graduate.
Contact our Firm
If you or a family member is seeking representation for a child support case, contact the Law Offices of Haber Silver Simpson & Russoniello today.
If you require strong legal representation for matters related to divorce or family law, Haber Silver Simpson & Russoniello is here to help. We proudly represent clients in Morris County and throughout the state of New Jersey. Contact our firm today to schedule a consultation.