Some states allow judges to order a parent to pay retroactive child support. In the state of Florida for example, a judge may order up to 24 months of retroactive child support predating the divorce or paternity filing. However, it should go without saying that New Jersey is nothing like Florida and, thus, does not allow judges to order retroactive child support, except to the date a party filed the application for child support currently at issue. Retroactivity for the pending motion can go back to the date the notice was mailed. That said, you may have some reason to believe that your former spouse will not fulfill his or her financial obligations. That is why it is absolutely vital that you get child support from the start. If you need help ensuring that your former spouse pays his or her fair share to your child, please read on, then contact one of our experienced New Jersey child support attorneys to learn how you can protect your child’s financial rights.
How does New Jersey determine child support?
While one of the primary factors that go into determining child support amounts is the combined gross income of both parents, other considerations include, but are not limited to:
- The child’s needs
- The custody arrangement
- The family’s standard of living
- The economic circumstances of each parent
- Income and assets of each parent
- Earning ability of each parent, i.e. education, training, skills, etc.
- Custodial responsibility for the children
- Need and capacity of each child for education
- Age and health of each parent
- Age and health of the child
How long does New Jersey child support last?
A general rule of thumb is that child support may end when the child reaches the age of emancipation, which in the Garden State is typically 19 years old. However, depending on your child’s unique circumstances, child support may be extended beyond that point. Factors like the child attending full post-secondary educational programs might warrant further child support. Whatever the specifics of your child’s case, you should reach out to one of our skilled Morris County family law attorneys to discuss what your next steps should be.
How can a Morris County family law attorney help you?
A qualified Morris County family law attorney from our firm will draft, collect and/or present the evidence needed to justify and enforce your claim to child support. The court ordered your former spouse to pay a certain amount and if he or she does not, he or she can face severe repercussions. Let us handle the legal work while you focus on the difficult task of raising your child. Please do not hesitate to give us a call today.
Contact our experienced New Jersey firm
If you require strong legal representation for matters related to divorce or family law, Haber Silver Simpson & Russoniello is here to help. We proudly represent clients in Morris County and throughout the state of New Jersey. Contact our firm today to schedule a consultation.