New Jersey, like many other states, require that parents provide financial support for their children until they are emancipated in the eyes of the state. Previously, the state only required parents to provide support until the child turned 18 but in February 2017, the age of emancipation was raised to 19. It is important to be aware of the fact that New Jersey may require that parents support their children up until the age of 23 if they attend higher education or have a disability.
New Jersey has Child Support Guidelines in place for parents who have a combined net income of between $170 and $3600 per week. Those who exceed $3600 per week will have the court decide based on a number of different factors, some of which include the following:
- The needs of the child
- The child custody arrangement
- The standard of living established before the divorce
- The financial situation of each parent
- The income and assets of each parent
- The age and health of each parent
- The age and health of the child
- The earning capacity of each parent
- The earning capacity of the child if they are of age to work
- The debts of each parent and the child
- The parents’obligation to pay support for other children
If you have questions about child support obligations in New Jersey, contact our firm today.
If you require strong legal representation for matters related to divorce or family law, Haber Silver Simpson & Russoniello is here to help. We proudly represent clients in Morris County and throughout the state of New Jersey. Contact our firm today to schedule a consultation.