Child support is one of the most important matters that must be addressed in a divorce when the couple has children together. In New Jersey, child support is largely determined using the state’s Child Support Guidelines that take a number of different factors into consideration in an effort to determine the noncustodial parents’ obligation. These guidelines only apply to families with a combined net income of more than $170 per week but less than $3,600 per week. The court will make a decision for individuals who have a combined net income of more than $3,600 per week.
Some of the factors that are used to determine a child support obligation include the child’s needs, the child custody arrangement, the standard of living established during the marriage, the income and assets of each parent, the debts of each parent, the overall economic situation of each parent, the age and health of the child, the age and health of each parent, the child’s earning ability depending on their age, the earning ability of each parent, the needs of the child, and more.
Child support ends either when the child is emancipated at age 19 or until they are 23. In some cases, the parents may also be obligated to pay for the child’s college expenses.
If you have questions about New Jersey child support, contact us today.
If you require strong legal representation for matters related to divorce or family law, Haber Silver Simpson & Russoniello is here to help. We proudly represent clients in Morris County and throughout the state of New Jersey. Contact our firm today to schedule a consultation.