When a couple goes through a divorce, it can impact an entire family. This is especially the case if the couple has children together. When this happens, the parents must navigate a new life for their children by settling new arrangements. In the state of New Jersey, courts stress putting children at the forefront of these decisions to ensure they keep the standard they were used to before the divorce. This requires child support to be paid from one parent to the other after the divorce to continue financially supporting the children.
Child support payments are determined by a judge by following the New Jersey Child Support Guidelines. This works to calculate the child’s expenses with the family income. In addition to this, several factors relating to the parents’ financial status are considered. This can include their work history, earning capacity, the needs of the child, the cost of providing for the child, and more. With this process, the judge is able to determine a fair conclusion for support payments based on what the parents in question can provide for their child.
Age of Emancipation
A parent with physical custody of their child is the custodial parent. This is the individual the child will live with the majority of the time. This requires them to make sure the child has a stable life with a home, food, clothing, education, and more. These expenses can become difficult for one parent to take care of on their own, which is why the non-custodial parent is required to financially assist the child as well. Child support payments are required to be paid until a child reaches the age of emancipation. In the state of New Jersey, this age is generally 19 years old.
However, every family lives a different life. Because of this, each child support cases are handled uniquely for each family. This is why support payments are not always terminated when a child reaches 19 years old. Courts sometimes make exceptions to this and extend payments past this age. This may be the case if a child wants to seek higher education, such as college or trade school. When this happens, support payments may not end until their education is over. This requires parents to continue providing for their child while they are unable to do so for themselves. Alternatively, child support payments can also end early in some cases. If a parent believes their child able to provide for themselves, they can petition the court to emancipate them. Once a child is emancipated, a parent is no longer required to pay child support.
Contact our Firm
If you require strong legal representation for matters related to divorce or family law, Haber Silver Simpson & Russoniello is here to help. We proudly represent clients in Morris County and throughout the state of New Jersey. Contact our firm today to schedule a consultation.